Launching is fast for browser in incognito but slow/fail in normal mode

Hi Binder community,

I am very new to binder but I am very happy that I am able to set up my repo at https://github.com/NatPombubpa/Binder_AMPtk

When I launch this repo from my browser (Chrome or Safari), it takes 10 mins+ and sometime it fails. However, if I launch it using incognito mode, it only takes several minutes. I also tried launching it from my ipad and it launch even faster than my macbook.

I am wondering if anyone has seen this issue before and how can I improve the set up in this repo to make sure that launching wonā€™t fail.

Thanks in advance for your helps!

Best,
Nat

Since you say you are new, Iā€™ll point out that what you are experiencing could be entirely normal and that there isnā€™t much you can do beyond be patient and be prepared to try again sometimes. One ā€˜best practiceā€™ is to make sure you launch once before you send anyone else there in your region.

You seem to be already checking on other browsers and systems, which is a good practice when things seem ā€˜oddā€™ as a browser on a particular computer can get stuck in a glitch for days and not connect correctly. This is very rare and Iā€™ll discuss it more below.

For further explanation:
As different points in the Binder Federation get sent your repo, every time it gets updated they have to rebuild. Occasionally that will also coincide with some updates being propagated through the Binder system or a new pod being launched to handle the demand. Both of those sorts of things can make it take the 10 minutes you are seeing. These events have to happen in the public system, and so you cannot fix that other than hosting your own BinderHub or JupyterHub where you serve your notebooks or app to select users. But it is rare you get those events and usually it is much less than 10 minutes for a new pod or node to get set up. But Iā€™m mentioning that up front as it does happen from time to time.