Thoughts on using tox?

Hi all,

I’m new to contributing to JupyterHub and one of the first things I’ve run into is the various contributor guides (both within the jupyterhub repo itself and more generally for jupyter the community). Some of those have a decent start to getting a local development environment up and running but they also have some gaps, e.g. I didn’t have a native sqlite package installed so running tests and starting jupyterhub was not working for awhile without any real clear errors.

A common pattern I’ve noticed in these contributor / getting setup for local dev docs is they tell you to install things essentially globally but that’s something I’d prefer not to do and actually I couldn’t get working for the tests to run with pytest until I created a virtual environment (pip install was seg faulting outside the venv).

I opened an RFE style issue to try and capture some of this [1]. I didn’t see any existing threads or docs about isolating the dev environment so figured I’d started a thread here.

What I’m proposing is add a tox.ini configuration file for running tests, starting jupyterhub from within a venv, building docs, etc. Then the contributor docs become pretty simple: pip install tox virtualenv && tox

Furthermore, the travis CI config and tox config could be synchronized so that the travis config just runs tox commands so you get the same interface for local testing and what is run in travis (I had to look at how travis was configured to run some tests while trying to get the tests to run).

Anyway, I’m assuming this has been brought up before but since I’m new and couldn’t find any existing threads about it in discourse I figured I’d ask.

[1] https://github.com/jupyterhub/jupyterhub/issues/2961

Thanks,

Matt