Should JupyterHub and BinderHub come in more flavors?

The installs that I have seen are ubuntu based

I have done some work with JupyterHub and over the past couple of days have been working with an internal binder implementation. In each case, the installs or the docker configurations seem to require ubuntu.

While experimenting with configuring a notebook to “launch binder”, I found that there are a number of commands that just port slightly differently, for example, adduser takes different options on RHEL than Ubuntu.

Does ignoring RHEL reduce market penetration

I am far from an expert, but where I work the vast majority of our servers are running RHEL. That has been a disadvantage on the few times that I have worked with these two products. I was wondering about the server mix in the commercial institutions. I found this article, which is not especially quantitative, but it suggests that RHEL has a much higher penetration of the server market than ubuntu.

• Should we be offering an alternative flavor for installation?
  • Has this already been researched?

Good question. For BinderHub could you point to some specific things? I don’t think anything should require Ubuntu, it does need translating to other dialects though.

Speaking for BinderHub and its related projects: we decided to only give the commands for Ubuntu (see recent comment on revamped contributing guide). The assumption we made is that if you are installing BinderHub you are probably experienced enough to translate the Ubuntu command to your local dialect (with your personal opinion mixed in). Basically thinking of it as a lingua franca.

The advantages of doing it this way for the project are:

• that we can keep the guide short(ish),
  • don’t have to resolve the various opinions on how you “should” install things (aka I personally think that apt-get install python is the worst way to install Python but can live with it being the precise way of saying “install Python”)