Upper cell dependencies

Hi there, newbie here. Been learning Python and Jupyter over these last few covid months. Getting pretty good at it and really enjoying the learning.

Sorry if I get the terminology wrong in my question, but here goes.

So let’s say I’ve got multiple cells. I’ve done a calculation up above and have a new variable (or a new value has been assigned to a variable). MOST of the time, two cells down I can access that variable fine as long as I’ve run the upper cell at least once. But SOMETIMES it won’t let me. The only way to access that variable and run my cell is to run that upper cell every time before running the cell in question (or “run all”).

Is there some logic to this that I’m missing? I haven’t been able to discover a pattern so far.

Thanks in advance for your input. It’s just one of those quality of life things that I would love to solve!

Hi Lyle,

Generally think of the notebook cells as all saving to the same global variable space in the notebook. You can actually check these by calling locals() outside a function – or globals() inside a function.

But SOMETIMES it won’t let me.

This seems odd. Either A) you deleting the global variable or B) you restarted the kernel (the thing actually running your python code) in which case the variable would no longer be available or C) You have a local variable inside the function you are using that is overloading the parent and the value is making you think it doesn’t exist (e.g. None).

You may want to create the simplest example that reproduces the issue and that will either quickly reveal the problem as you remove surrounding code snippets, or give a clearer picture about what execution patterns you are using here.

1 Like

Thanks for getting back to me!

OK, good to know that it supposed to work the way I thought it was supposed to work. I guess I wanted to make sure I wasn’t missing something fundamental before I spent more time researching it.