Sharing Jupyter notebooks during lectures

I’m an instructor/trainer in Python and data science. Just about every day, I’m teaching a course to a company somewhere in the world.

My main tool in lectures is Jupyter; I currently use the notebook, but will likely switch to the lab in the future.

Right now, I type + talk when I lecture, live-coding everything. I then share my notebooks (via e-mail) at the end of each class day. So if I have a 4-day course, I end up having 4 .ipynb files, which I e-mail to course participants.

This is obviously less than ideal. I’d love to have my students be able to view my notebooks as I’m writing them. (This is particularly true when I give them exercises, which happens a lot; they ask me to scroll up and down so that they can see the reference material and/or the question text.)

I’ve tried a few ways to do this so far, but they’ve all ended poorly, mostly because Jupyter doesn’t seem to offer a read-only mode for my students to view the notebooks while I continue to write to them.

So:

• Is there a good way for me to have read/write access to a Jupyter notebook, and for my students to have read-only access, while I continue to update it?
  • If there isn’t a good way to do this, is there a non-terrible way?

I’m open to any and all ideas. Thanks!

Reuven

1 Like

Have you tried Chris Holdgraf’s gitautopush?

3 Likes

I didn’t realize that anybody used that other than me :slight_smile:

but yes I was going to suggest the same workflow. gitautopush is a little tool that watches a folder and automatically git-pushes any changes that it finds. I use it for live-coding lectures. At the beginning of class I send students a link to my github repo, then turn on gitautopush in a new terminal pointing it to my content folder. As I make changes throughout the class, they’re automatically pushed up to github, and students can just refresh the page to get the latest version

3 Likes