Running Python file is greyed out on Jupyter Lite

Dear community,

I am new to using Jupyter Notebooks and am struggling to run a Python script. I just set up my account on JupyterLite. I copy-pasted the following code from Autovis to automatically visualise my data set but the option “Run” from the menu is greyed out, see here:

Is there a way to (1) get the “run” function working again? Also, is it possible or required to install the package first? If so, how can I do so on the Jupyter online environment?

Many thanks in advance for your help!

TL;DR:

Attach a console backed by a kernel to the script editor pane to activate the associated options in the ‘Run’ menu.

There’s no account to set up here and so I’m not sure what you meant by that.
Please pay close attention to the ‘Experimental’ warning on the page right above where you clicked to launch it on the main ‘Try Jupyter’ page here. The link you posted above in your original post launches JupyterLab in the browser of the person who clicks on it. What another person would get is entirely separate from your session in your browser. That is good for security, but means we cannot see “the following code” you reference.

It is working. Let’s separate out the issues here. Don’t use code you don’t know if it can run to debug something.

Step-by-step: running a test Python script in JupyterLite using the ‘Run’ menu:

1. Launch JupyterLite’s JupyterLab interface. (If you have messed up your JupyterLite recently, I suggest opening it in incognito mode in your browser to get a fresh session. Keep in mind though it won’t be persistent in any way. [Always best to think of JupyterLite as not persistent anyway since it is in your browser that is essentially off limits to you and will change if you mess with your browser clear your cache.])