Repo2Docker: make it easy to start from arbitrary docker image

I’ve been asked to start this discussion here after a gitter chat with @betatim and @jhamman. My apologies if I’m re-opening existing discussions, I’m quite new to BinderHub (and other hubs).

Related GH issue: https://github.com/jupyter/repo2docker/issues/487

TL;DR

I would like Binder and Repo2Docker to start from an arbitrary docker image made easy, i.e. not only for “expert users”.

Context

I am a scientist, not a computer scientist.

I’m maintaining a MyBinder repo which runs nicely (oggm-edu). But I’d like to build on this in order to offer a real computing environment, i.e. by setting-up our own hub with more resources and customize following the recommendations of the Pangeo project.

As a first step, I would like to start MyBinder from an existing docker image (that I am happy to modify in order to fit Repo2Docker’s needs). This docker image (and its daily tags) provide all the packages I need to run my glacier model in a reproducible way. We use these docker images intensively for CI and testing, but most importantly on our cluster via Singularity. We can now provide a dockerhub image tag along our scientific publications, which is great.

What I expect from this

There are several things I’d like to improve by making repo2docker start from our own image:

• currently, our environment build is complex and large (many dependencies). The conda environment became so large and was breaking so often that I now install everything via pip instead (I went from a ~4.5Gb image size to 3.5Gb, which could further be reduced if Repo2Docker wouldn’t install conda per default). This results in messy build files and is silly because we have a working environment that we control on DockerHub already.