Rename files using a for

Hi. I’m new in python. I have to rename all files in a folder called “image.0001” ,“image.0002” ,“image.0003” etc in “1” ,“2”, “3” . there are more than 200 files

i did something like this to try but it doesn’t work

import os
dir = ‘paziente_2019’ #my folder
i=[‘image.0005.png’,‘image.0006.png’,‘image.0007.png’,‘image.0008.png’,‘image.0009.png’]
j=[‘5.png’,‘6.png’,‘7.png’,‘8.png’,‘9.png’]
for p in j:
for n in i:
#print(n)
#print(j)
old_file = os.path.join(dir, n)
new_file = os.path.join(dir, p)
os.rename(old_file, new_file)

thank you

It’s very hard to tell exactly what your issue is because we aren’t seeing your code as you are running it, I suspect. Please paste formatted code in blocks flanked by triple ticks so that it retains formatting. See here and here.

Like this, which should do what you are trying to do:

import os
dir = 'paziente_2019' #my folder
i=['image.0005.png','image.0006.png','image.0007.png','image.0008.png','image.0009.png']
j=['5.png','6.png','7.png','8.png','9.png']
for indx,n in enumerate(i):
    #print(n)
    #print(indx)
    #print(j[indx])
    old_file = os.path.join(dir, n)
    new_file = os.path.join(dir, j[indx])
    os.rename(old_file, new_file)

That is confirmed to work on a Unix-style system when the code is executed in the directory where paziente_2019 also is found. Make sure you check the current working directory by running pwd in a cell in your notebook. You may have different path issues to work out if you are working on a Windows machine.