Reading web based url data into data frame using Jupyter Notebook

I am a newbie to python and jupyter notebooks and I have problem which I currently cannot solve.

It seems I am not able to load web based url data into a jupyter notebook data frame. I have no problem with local csv files.

I believe I have the correct syntax loading pandas as pd and numpy as np. When I take following the actions in the example below I get a long error message and I have no clue what it means. Similar errors with other websites.I have also installed the following packages- 1xml, htmllib, BeautifulSoup4, to no avail.

import pandas as pd

import numpy as nd

url= “https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wikipedia:Fundraising_statistics”

tables= pd.read_html (url)

Any suggestions will be appreciated!

This isn’t pertinent to this forum. You are using Python in a Jupyter notebook and looking for it to work. Probably you’d get the same behavior if you ran this code as a Python script or in the Python console/interpreter and so it isn’t a Jupyter issue. This is a good test to consider, at least as a thought experiment if not an actual trial, when trying to decide where to seek support.
Additionally, how you’ve posted it isn’t helping people help you. You’d need to share the error because as you can see below it isn’t reproducible. (In fact, sharing what you see as text is very important 99.999999% of the time on forums such as these. You should use here and here as guides to posting in such forums.)

That being said, a lot of people here know a bit of Python…

As I explained above. I cannot discern what you are experiencing because you didn’t share your error. As you can see below, it runs just fine once you fix the quotes (see more about that below this screenshot),