Papermill required parameters in Notebook

Hello,

I am relatively new to papermill but I am looking into utilizing it for Notebook environments. I was wondering if there is any documentation or examples of when a notebook that was not given parameters or assigned value for a certain parameter would give an error or warning message (to assign parameter to value) before executing the notebook? This is essential as a user would like to be informed before running a notebook of a parameter that must be inputted in order to not result in a inaccurate executed notebook.

Any help would be appreciated!

Sounds like what you are looking for is some sort of user-friendly ‘control plane’? I don’t have anything concrete to offer as there seems to be a number of ways to go about this depending on what else is in your toolchain or how you are more comfortable implementing such a thing.

Domino Data Labs has implemented what it seems you are describing as ‘Launchers’ that you as the notebook developer make to go along with your notebook (or script), see here.

The developer of the notebook could do something similar in a pure Jupyter ecosystem using Voila dashboards with ipywidgets for parameter input, in conjunction with the developed notebook. (Make sure you check out the Voila Gallery.)

If your user is otherwise comfortable with typing the papermill execution command and just looking for some little hints of what they may have forgot in the command, you could make a Voila dashboard that helps them build that execution command. I am imagining the Voila dashboard that queries the input notebook for parameter tags and then checks the text of the papermill execution command in the text form and sees if it addresses that parameter already.