Jupyter Notebook, windows 10, Python, matplotlib, update plot

Hi everyone,

I’m new to here, I had been Googling for hours, but I still have no answer to my problem. It doesn’t imply it is a hard one, it might just imply I’m a noob :smiley_cat:.

Here my set up :

• Jupyter Notebook
  • Windows 10
  • Python 3 : matplotlib, numpy, scipy (*)

(*) I’m not allowed to use something else so I hope it won’t make the problem harder otherwise I’ll be fine with a easiest solution even if I won’t be able to use it for my class. It will be engrossing for my future when I’ll be free to use whatever library I need.

Problem : I would like to update sequentially plot for exemple : With a for each iteration I plot a new figure with a pause time I can set up on my own.

It’s as simple as that, thanks for reading me.

Best regards.

It sounds sort of like you are trying to do what I call an animated plot. I can offer this set of plots and links to additional resources about this topic. Go in your browser to there and click the launch binder badge. You can step through running the cells in the notebook that comes up. Hopefully you can adapt some of the code for those examples to suit your needs. You’ll see the first few examples use time.spleep() to control the pause duration and so you can adjust that as you need.

It used to be the case that this was very different whether you are using the classic notebook or JupyterLab interface. I don’t know if that has changed yet with JupyterLab 3. But maybe that is moot because you say ‘Jupyter Notebook’.

My examples employ SciPy but they might not use the plots SciPy makes, and the latter may be what you need. The examples I see, such as here implies SciPy relies a lot on Matplotlib and so maybe the resources I have pointed you to will help you.