Introducing Solara (an ipywidgets based app framework)

Hi :wave:

I haven’t been very active on this forum, but I will try to be a bit more active from now on.
I am a core ipywidgets developer and maintainer and (co)-created several ipywidgets libraries (ipyvolume, ipyvuetify, ipywebrtc, ipysheet) and co-created Voilà.
Over the years, I’ve helped several organizations and companies build ipywidgets-based applications, which are often deployed using Voilà.

Reacton

Recognizing over the years that UI development is hard and taking lessons from the JavaScript ecosystem, I created Reacton, which re-uses ipywidgets with React-like concepts, making it easier to build larger applications using ipywidgets.
I wrote about it a while ago at Advance your ipywidget app development with Reacton — A pure Python port of React for faster development | by Maarten Breddels | Medium but I thought it would be good to share it here.

Solara

We (together with Mario Buikhuizen - ipyvuetify primary author) are also working on a web app framework built on top of Reacton, called Solara (GitHub) that includes a ton of components to make ipywidget based development easier and faster.

Solara server

Solara also includes a new web app server, that can render ipywidgets in FastAPI/Starlette and Flask (is there a need for Django?). Solara server’s primary purpose is efficient, scalable web apps. Although Solara can execute a notebook, it will not display your cells. Instead, solara will only display a single widget top level. This is similar to voila + voila-vuetify (I was the main push behind the voila-vuetify template). Solara server, however, does not create real kernels but instead uses what we call ‘virtual kernels’ so that multiple users share the same process. With this, we can render a page fast because all imports, JIT compilations, or anything that happens at startup is already done. Also, because of a single process, we can share memory/data/dataframes, etc.