How to get Vim editor extension working?

Hi!

I’m new to Jupyter (just started the fast.ai course), and I’ve set up an environment to run on my local machine. I want to set up vim mode (using GitHub - jupyterlab-contrib/jupyterlab-vim: Vim notebook cell bindings for JupyterLab), but I can’t get it to work, and I’m feeling very stupid right now. Reading the documentation, it sounds like it should “just work”, but it doesn’t, and I don’t even know where to look to dig deeper. A summary of where I am/what I’ve tried:

• I’m running Python 3.11.3 on MacOS 13.4.1, installed via Homebrew
  • I’m running JupyterLab 3.6.3, installed via pip
  • I’ve installed the jupyterlab-contrib version of the vim plugin, i.e. pip install jupyterlab-vim
  • I’ve restarted JupyterLab

At this point, given the very terse instructions in the plugin README, I expected things to “just work”, since it doesn’t say to do anything more than just install the pip package. However, there is no Vim editor mode enabled, so I’ve tried a few more things:

• I’ve read the JupyterLab extensions documentation (although I’ve probably missed something). (I’m not allowed to include the link, since Discourse says I’m a n00b).
  • I’ve run jupyter lab build
  • I’ve selected vim from the “Settings->Text editor key map” menu
  • I’ve enabled extensions in the leftmost toolbar in JupyterLab
  • I’ve searched for “vim” in the extensions panel and found a few results:
    • axlair/jupyterlab_vim (with an at sign before, but I’m not allowed to use that since Discourse thinks I’m mentioning a user, and I’m a n00b)
    • jupyterlab_vim
    • amosbird/jupyterlab_vim
    • ryantam626/jupyterlab_vim
    • jupyterlab_vim-system-clipboard-support