How to create a new command that combines existing commands?

Hello, I’m a data scientist, and am looking for some guidance on my first jupyterlab extension.

I’m looking to create a new command (called restart-kernel-and-run-all-and-git-add) that would save me a few clicks by combining a few steps together in a single menu item.

The hope was to combine restartAndRunAll, an existing command in the RunMenu, with git add.

Is there a way to take the commandID for Runmenu:restart-and-run-all and combine it with the git add command?

Many thanks in advance!

1 Like

Welcome!

Before slinging some TS, to get a feel for the commands, I recommend trying out ipylab. This might get you what you need!

Once you’re ready to do it the hard way:

conda install -c conda-forge nodejs cookiecutter
cookiecutter https://github.com/jupyterlab/extension-cookiecutter-ts

Then in your shiny new package, you want your activate function to look something like:

activate: (app: JupyterFrontEnd) => {
  const {commands} = app;
  app.commands.register("restart-kernel-and-run-all-and-git-add", {
    execute: async (args) => {
      await commands.execute('runmenu:restart-and-run-all');
      //... wait for the kernel to be idle... kinda tricky!
      //... find the right command, or use `fetch`
    },
  });
};

A quick look didn’t reveal anything in jupyterlab-git on the client side… but maybe you can ask!

Going a little deeper: I think a user-serviceable macro system would be lovely. It’s probably a (needfully) loose JSON schema. This is a thing I’ve never actually sat down to write, but have wanted so many times. Even had a clever name in mind, comacho

I’ve got a 3 point plan that’s going to fix EVERYTHING.

3 Likes