Creating startup files for jupyter notebooks in binder

Hi,
I am very new to binder, so please forgive this very newbie question. I do have Jupyter notebook up and running on mybinder, which is exciting! But, I would like to refine it a bit.

My overall goal is to create a web page with interactive matplotlib graphics and animations that will be as easy as possible for users to use. Although it may seem trivial, I would like users to not even have to execute a command already in the notebook when they open it. If this was a notebook on a local machine, I could put a script in the startup directory, which I have identified as:
/home/jovyan/.ipython/profile_default/startup
Is there a way that I can add a file to this directory, or otherwise control the jupyter configuration on binder?
Thanks in advance for any suggestions.
David

We have config files called postBuild and start that are basically bash scripts that could be used to perform tweaks to the environment before your user arrives.

https://repo2docker.readthedocs.io/en/latest/config_files.html#postbuild-run-code-after-installing-the-environment

I would also look into voila for generating the webpage from the Notebook

https://voila.readthedocs.io/en/stable/deploy.html#deployment-on-binder

3 Likes

Sarah,
Thanks very much. So just so I am clear, do I add a file called postBuild to my repository, with a bash script that creates the directory structure
/home/jovyan/.ipython/profile_default/startup
and then put my python startup script there? What directory does the bash script run from?

I will definitely look into Voila. My plan had been to follow the approach described here:

But, it looks like Voila might be simpler.
Thanks again,
David

There is also Jupyter Book which uses Sphinx to host the static webpages and supports mybinder buttons for interactivity as well. They’ve just undergone a huge rebuild and its great to use https://blog.jupyter.org/announcing-the-new-jupyter-book-cbf7aa8bc72e