Can single-user instances authenticate access to shared notebooks?

I’m new to this and just trying to figure out how to set up JupyterHub with per-user subdomains and suchlike.

Two important questions: are we able to restrict notebooks in single-user instances to authenticated users? If so, can we limit the type of access?

In certain environments, the use case for JupyterHub would require either no sharing of notebooks or the ability for a user to set any notebook to be shared only to specific users. Beyond simple yes-no access, I’d expect four levels of access to be possible:

• Read: A user can read the notebook (with cached output from prior run by a privileged user?)
  • Read and Run: A user can read and execute the notebook
  • Read-Write: A user can read and edit the notebook, but not execute it
  • Read-Write-Run: A user can edit and execute the notebook, a dangerous and highly-trusted permission

This would be useful for notes regarding highly-controlled information such as trade secrets. In the most stringent environment, two separate JupyterHub installations would be created, with a sticky banner at the top indicating in large, friendly letters which instance the user is in (“NO PROPRIETARY INFORMATION” vs “PROPRIETARY INFORMATION, DO NOT SHARE”) and a link to the opposite instance for fast switching; those considerations are on the administrator’s side, and JupyterHub is already fully capable of that kind of labeling.