Auto-scaling based on CPU-usage?

I’m very new to this, so I hope this question makes sense…

I’ve been working through the excellent “Zero to JupyterHub with Kubernetes” tutorial using Google Cloud Platform. My Hub is running and everything works nicely, but I’m struggling to achieve successful auto-scaling.

I’ve created an auto-scaling user node pool, as described in Step 7 of the tutorial here, and I’ve also modified config.yaml based on the recommendations here.

I’m not sure what I should expect from this, but so far I have not yet managed to trigger any upscaling of the cluster. My basic user node pool comprises one Google n1-standard-4 machine with 4 CPUs and 15 GB of RAM. If I log-in to the hub and start some intensive processing, I can see from the Google Cloud dashboard that this machine is fully occupied (i.e. CPU usage at 99.9%). If another user logs in, I was hoping that the auto-scaler might launch another node, but it seems I’m misunderstanding?

From what I can understand of the Kubernetes documentation, it sounds as though CPU usage might not actually trigger auto-scaling? Is there an alternative? For that matter, if a single user launches some intensive (“embarrassingly parallel”) processing, is it possible to upscale their node, or will each user always be limited by the machine type of the single node their pod is on?

As you can probably tell, I have a lot to learn about cloud computing! However, one very appealing aspect of JupyterHub for me is the potential to upscale beyond the capabilities of my laptop for short periods of intensive simulation. I would love to get this working if it’s possible!

Thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

The kubernetes scheduler looks at the resources assigned to a pod in its specification. It doesn’t look at how much CPU it actually uses.

Take a look at https://kubernetes.io/docs/tasks/configure-pod-container/assign-cpu-resource/ (and similar for RAM).