Accessibility Audit for Jupyter Notebook

Hello, I’m a student at NYU’s Center for Data Science, working with @VickySteeves this summer on an accessibility audit for Jupyter Notebooks. I was trained by NYU IT’s Accessibility Office to be able to do a full audit. I’ve gone through Jupyter Notebook version 6.0.0, using notebooks from the Data 8 course materials as examples, and VoiceOver on Mac for screen reader testing. Below I’ve included some critical accessibility issues as starting points, along with a Google Doc for more details. I also have a spreadsheet of the complete audit I performed, showing the pages I tested, which areas did not pass WCAG 2.0. Each bolded point under the “Test Procedure” column links to the corresponding section on WCAG 2.0 for reference. I also referenced WAI-ARIA Authoring Practices for examples on design patterns.

• Accessible name missing for folder/file icons
  • Status changes are not announced for assistive technologies
  • Graphs generated by code need alternative way to convey information
  • Menu items are difficult to access with keyboard
  • Keyboard trap
  • Code editor mode or Command mode information not conveyed
1 Like

Thanks for working on this and posting the results!

What do you think is the next action to take?

There are several posts on this forum as well as on GitHub that talk about accessibility work, needs, audits, etc. It would be good if we could keep the number of issues constant instead of increasing them by starting new topics each time. Otherwise we end up with bits of information in 101 places. So maybe a next step would be to link all of them and/or post on GitHub - jupyter/accessibility: A repository for ongoing work around making Jupyter's software accessible and inclusive which @ellisonbg created but hasn’t seen much action so far. Some of the other topics I could find: