Spark integration documentation

Hello everybody!
As @betatim asked me here, this is my (hopefully) complete documentation on how to run Spark on K8s on z2jh.

As some of you might know Spark introduced native K8s support with version 2.3 and K8s support for PySpark/R-Spark with version 2.4. This documentation is about the integration on pangeo as I use it for ‘native’ Dask support. For vanilla z2jhk8s this probably differs but the differences should be pretty few ones. My hope was to integrate Spark as painless as possible into the pangeo workflow to empower our users to use it rather than to configure it.

Disclaimer: I am pretty new to the whole kubernetes/cloud/container topic. I tried to use best practices as good as possible but maybe there are some newbie mistakes. As starting point I used this documentation.:

1. As first step I added this configuration to my K8s cluster:
kind: Role
apiVersion: rbac.authorization.k8s.io/v1
metadata:
 namespace: default
 name: spark-role
rules:
- apiGroups: [“”]
 resources: [“pods”]
 verbs: [“get”, “watch”, “list”, “edit”, “create”, “delete”]
---
kind: RoleBinding
apiVersion: rbac.authorization.k8s.io/v1
metadata:
 name: spark
 namespace: default
subjects:
- kind: User
 name: system:serviceaccount:pangeo:daskkubernetes
 apiGroup: “”
roleRef:
 kind: Role
 name: spark-role
 apiGroup: “”

This adds the spark-role to the service account daskkubernetes which is used in pangeo to create dask workers and makes sure that the pods are spawned in an autoscaling worker pool with preemptible instances. As far as I understood it the namespace for the spark executor pods has to be default.

1. The next thing is to create an image for the spark executor pods. Spark 2.4 is shipped with a script that creates these images. To make sure that the versions are 100% compatible I decided to create them from the environment within my spark user image. First you run a container with Spark installed. I used the pyspark notebook from the docker stacks.