Segmentation Fault

I am using a Supercomputer at our organization for training an AI model. The supercomputer has 4 GPU nodes since I am a beginner I used the following command from the login node to run the jupyter notebook in one of the GPU nodes:
$srun --partition=gpu --pty --nodelist=hpc-node-03 jupyter notebook --ip=0.0.0.0

I encountered two of the following fault scenarios

1. While running programs in jupyter notebook for a long time, I get segmentation fault (core dumped)
  2. When a large dataset is getting trained, with the higher number of epochs, the kernel dies and doesn’t get restarted.

So, what would be the reason for the segmentation fault and disconnected kernel?

There are lots of possible reasons, a common one is running out of compute resources (e.g. memory). It’s also possible there’s a bug in your code or a library you’re using. If you’ve got any colleagues who use the same supercomputer they should be able to help you work out whether it’s a resource problem.

1 Like

Following up on @manics’ response (I suspect resources as well), if you could provide any of the information surrounding the seg-fault (console messages, stack traces, etc.), we (and/or others) might be able to glean some hints. Also, about how long is “a long time”?

Thanks.

@manics I have attached the result of $cat /proc/meminfo for reference

I use python code for training the AI model and as of now, no colleagues are using the HPC for this application, they use the system for OpenMP programming. Following are the libraries I use for implementation:

import os
import os.path
import sys
import h5py
import numpy as np
import tensorflow as tf
from keras.models import Model, Sequential
from keras.layers import Flatten, Dense, Input, Conv1D, MaxPooling1D, GlobalAveragePooling1D, GlobalMaxPooling1D, AveragePooling1D
from keras.engine.topology import get_source_inputs
from keras.utils import layer_utils
from keras.utils.data_utils import get_file
from keras import backend as K