How to use JH session information for hub api access instead of creating an api token per user

Hello,
I am new to all things JH, and am currently accessing JH v4.0.2 via an iframe within an angular application running on the same server. I would like to be able to hit the jupyter/hub/api/user endpoint per each user that is logged in, in order to see if they have a server running via the server element in the response, and then navigate there directly (or to the spawn page). I should note that if the user is not yet logged in to JH, they are automatically sent to the login within the iframe first, and login is managed via IAM.

I have successfully hit the jupyter/hub/api/user endpoint by creating a token in jupyter/hub/token and using that in the request header with the Authorization key and token <my token> as its value. However, I would like this request to be called on behalf of the user that is currently logged in to JH, and not have to hardcode tokens within the app.

I was looking into the JH cookies noted here, but cannot figure out if I am able to use something from within the jupyterhub-hub-login cookie in the api requests, and if so, how? If i should add a package that allows me to check for the presence of a specific session cookie and try to navigate with that information? Or something else completely? I noticed that one to two api tokens are created for me on login/server start but don’t know if I’m able to use or access them.

In the future, I would also like to be able to spin up a server with resource specifications of my choosing.

Thank you for your guidance in advance!

I don’t think JupyterHub’s cookies are what should be used here. API requests on behalf of users aren’t generally cookie-authenticated.

The standard way to do this would be to register a Service with permission to issue or receive tokens on behalf of the user (a service doesn’t need to be a running process, it can be an occasional maker of API requests from anywhere).