How to navigate to the root directory in linux

hi all
jlab noob here running Version 4.0.9

I can’t seem to navigate to the root directory in my jlab. I can only “See”

/home/dave/Desktop/tont_24/data/
in the file navigator
how do I get to /home ?

thanks

Perhaps this great answer to ‘How to set default folder in JupyterLab file browser?’ will help you.
Maybe it is sufficient in your case? I think you’d try appending ?file-browser-path=/home to the URL in your browser in your case and entering that. (Or ?file-browser-path=%2Fhome? Yet, I don’t think that is necessary to escape here.)
However, I think it has limits though. I think because it is relative, you cannot get above the starting point using this, it seems.
For example, I was trying to get the file browser above home in a session just now and couldn’t when I can use %cd in a notebook to get there to / as the working directory for the active notebook just fine and that was two levels above where I started and my attempts to use file-browser-path to get above there failed.

1 Like

happy new year to all.
thank you so much for taking the time to reply and giving me things to look at. Remember I am a NOOB and LOVE the jupyter lab experience ( ux, community, zmq ) BUT this seems to be complex. I haven’t tried any of the approaches yet so bear with me. My environment is simple. I run linux mint and ( right now python/julia moving to mojo) and house jupyter labs in a python 3.10 venv.
I was hoping that the UX would allow me to navigate my whole linux filesystem so I am confused as to why I can’t? If you answered that then I apologize. I don’t use conda and don’t plan to.

Okay. Different idea…

I’m trying to understand if you know that is where it is in your machine’s hierarchy or is that what the file navigator displays in JupyterLab?
If it is what it displays in Jupyter, try clicking or double clicking on the other words and symbols in the upper right of the file navigator and see if you can go up?

1 Like