Have trouble with require/requirejs

I am new to JupyterLab. I’m trying a pretty simple example visualization, which includes a JS lib via RequireJS-

%%javascript
require.config({ 
     paths: { 
     d3: 'https://d3js.org/d3.v5.min'
}});

When the cell is executed the output says:

Javascript Error: require is not defined

I have also seen “requirejs” instead of “require” so I switched to that but no difference.

Is RequireJS supported by JupyterLab? If not, how do I enable it? I’ve tried looking around under extensions, but am getting an error (shows 500 in jupyterlab’s console log whenever that panel loads.)

I installed JupyterLab via pip under Python 3.8.11-

$ pip freeze|grep -i jup
jupyter==1.0.0
jupyter-client==7.0.1
jupyter-console==6.4.0
jupyter-core==4.7.1
jupyter-server==1.10.2
jupyterlab==3.1.9
jupyterlab-pygments==0.1.2
jupyterlab-server==2.7.2
jupyterlab-widgets==1.0.0

Ordinary JavaScript code executes just, but I would prefer to programmatically use JS libraries via RequireJS, and not hand-craft script tags to include them.

Thanks!
-V.E.

requirejs is not available directly from jupyterlab, nor would your scripts generally know where they are on the page.

You work around some of these design choices by bringing display your own HTML, with a <script> tag, and a <div id="my-div>`, etc. and then doing whatever you need to do… but generally these approaches will end up being brittle over time.

2 Likes

Thanks for your reply. Probably I’m looking at old samples- how are folks utilising d3 -or other browser-based JS visualization packages- in Jupyter nowadays? I prefer to remain on the FOSS side of things, rather than a commercial or freemium graphical package.

You might want to have a look at the tutorial for the latest best practices for developing JupyterLab extensions: Extension Tutorial — JupyterLab 3.1.9 documentation