Getting "Forbidden" after login in JupyterHub

Hello

After login in JupyterHub, I get the error “Forbidden. You don’t have permission to access this resource.”

The hub is running from a Docker and I have no modifications to the configuration file, i.e. I am using the default configuration.

The server is available in two ways, via a public IP and via a website with a gateway configured to reach that IP.

If I access the hub by IP, everything works fine.
I only get this error when I access it from the website and after logging in.
However, after deleting the cookies, I can access the login page again.

To configure the gateway, I followed the instructions in the official documentation.

I would like to point out that in the JupyterHub output, there is no indication of the error.
After running this command docker logs -f --details jupyterhub I get

(...)
User logged in: admin
302 POST /hub/login?next=%2Fhub%2F -> /hub/

I am new to JupyterHub so I appreciate any help.

Because deleting the cookies made the site work again, I initially thought it was a problem with JupyterHub and not Apache.

However, the error message did not have the formatting of the error messages in JuyterHub and there was no indication of an error in the JupyterHub output. So, the issue was probably with Apache.

Investigating the Apache log file, I found that the ModSecurity module was blocking access to the hub after logging in. ModSecurity thinks the request of some cookie is an SQL Injection attack.

By the way, ModSecurity is an open-source web application firewall (WAF) module for Apache HTTP Server. It provides a way to enhance the security of web applications by monitoring and analyzing HTTP traffic in real-time.

Below you can find the error message in the Apache log file:

ModSecurity: Access denied with code 403 (phase 2).