Externd/Override jupyterlab default error messages

Hi all,

I am trying to change the default messages returned by jupyterlab without any luck. I am not very experienced with jupyterlab but I have read tutorials and I have a good understanding on how to write an extension (e.g. GitHub - jupyterlab/extension-examples: JupyterLab Extensions by Examples) but I am not sure how to extend/override the default error messages. This is an example of what I would like to achieve.

I start the server and I create 2 notebooks. After killing the server I receive messages like:

As mentioned here

this the place where of one of the messages I would like to extend/override lives.

I have searched extensively but I couldn’t find any hints whether this is doable (and how this could be done if doable). I have managed to create a simple extension but I can’t see how to extend/override a default behaviour/widget.

Can we override/extend the default dialogue messages that appear in different occasions?

Many thanks,

George

1 Like

Hi, did you find the way to override handlers and messages? I am in that same situation trying to override connection lost handler
Thank you

The “Sever Connection Error” dialog can be overriden by creating a custom plugin providing IConnectionLost token. By default that dialog falls back to this implementation:

as seen here:

JupyterHub does that in the @jupyterlab/hub-extension:connectionlost plugin:

Other dialogs can be overriden by creating a custom plugin providing the ISessionContextDialogs token and disabling the default @jupyterlab/apputils-extension:sessionDialogs.

Hi krassowski,
Ok @jupyterlab/hub-extension:connectionlost this is the place I want to change/override with my implementation.
I am not sure how to do that correctly, can you please elaborate on that?
Thank you!

We are using docker and k8s, this is how we install jupyter:

# jupyter install
RUN jupyter serverextension enable --py jupyterlab && \