Connect to selenium server

I am preparing some lectures using binder. In these students should use library(RSelenium) in R . Selenium is a browser automation suite. Using selenium outside of binder requires launching a Selenium server in a docker container:

docker run -d -p 4445:4444 selenium/standalone-firefox

How can I achieve this functionality within binder? I cannot launch docker within binder. Can I run it on the host and have students connect to it?

I am just starting out with binder so please forgive my ignorance. Iā€™ve used it for teaching once and was so happy with it that Iā€™m trying to move everything there as it spares me from dealing with computer configuration issues from students.

Some time ago I popped together this recipe for myself for using Selenium in Mybinder: https://github.com/simonw/selenium-demoscraper

2 Likes

Thanks, Iā€™ll give it a try!

Hi @hliebert ,

Did you manage to get RSelenium to work within binder? I tried the solution by @psychemedia but could not get it to work for me.

Thanks