Binder stopped due to an error or it was removed due to age or inactivity

I am new to Binder and I keep on running in the following error once I try to access the MyBinder repository I created:

424 error
Your Binder stopped due to an error or it was removed due to age or inactivity.

Is this due to the 10 minutes inactivity rule of Binder? I am just looking to provide a link for reproducing my code and add it to a blog post, would be grateful for any tips on how to proceed. Thank you

If it is working and you stop using it for 10 minute and it times out, then it is due to the 10 minutes of inactivity rule. It doesn’t seem like that is what is happening though. I’m thinking you expecting to access an old session instance? (More information provided in your original post would have made the situation clearer, see the bottom of this post.)

You want to link to the launch URL for sharing a way to launch your notebook. Every user is meant to get their own fress session instanct. DO NOT SHARE A PREVIOUSLY LAUNCHED SESSION INSTANCE. Previous session instances won’t be available once the originating connection closes the session.

An example of a launch URL vs a session instance URL may help you understand:

If you go to binder examples page for ‘’ Python environment with a requirements.txt and hover over the launch binder badge, you’ll see the URL it triggers to open is:

http://mybinder.org/v2/gh/binder-examples/requirements/HEAD

If you then launch a temporary session instance by clicking on the badge, when it spins up and shows Jupyter; you’ll see a URL like:

https://hub.ovh2.mybinder.org/user/binder-examples-requirements-i9xpeq3w/lab

Note two big differences:

• There’s a specific federation member indicated by text in front of mybinder.org near the start of the latter URL. In this example, it is OVH.