Best Way to Structure a Notebook

Hello Everyone! I am new to the Jupyter landscape and am hoping to get some feedback on the best way to structure a notebook. I am in the early phases of my project and want to get this sorted out now while changing my structure is still manageable.

The simplified version of my project is as follows:

• Pull a large dataset out of a pickle file and use it to populate dictionaries for dataset1 and dataset2
  • Do some manipulation and generate plots for dataset1
  • Do some manipulation and generate plots for dataset2

Currently I have three separate python files for populating the dictionaries, plotting dataset1 and plotting dataset2. I am planning on doing a lot more work with the data and will generate additional python files for each additional task.

My python files import each other (or more specifically the files dataset1 and dataset2 plotting import the dictionaries file) and I run each file in a notebook cell using the %run command. The problem is that I think this is basically a resource/time waste as the dictionary file is being run each time I run the scripts to generate my plots.

I could get around this by putting all of my python code directly into the notebook cells but the files are 400+ lines. I feel like this really clutters up the notebook, and makes editing the code much more tedious (versus using VScode to write the python files).

Does anyone have any advice on the best way to structure my notebook so that I can efficiently run large python scripts? The easiest way I’ve thought of is to simply write the code in VScode and copy/paste it into the Jupyter cells but that seems really clunky.