Best way to manage user permissions

Hi, I am using JupyterHub with Auth0 authenticator.
I want to give all users read only access by default and then grant some of them write access.
What is the best way to do this?
I am new to JupyterHub, any help would be appreciated.

Could you elaborate your setup more? Do you maybe even have it online, e.g. in a GitHub repository? How to achieve this best pretty much depends on which spawner you use.

Thanks for replying. I am running it locally for now, will be hosting it on Amazon Cloud after.
here is my config:
I have created srv folder by logging in as an admin, and I want other users to be able to read and some of them to write to it.

from oauthenticator.auth0 import Auth0OAuthenticator, LocalAuth0OAuthenticator
import os
c.JupyterHub.authenticator_class = LocalAuth0OAuthenticator
c.LocalAuth0OAuthenticator.auth0_subdomain = 'domain.eu'
c.LocalAuthenticator.add_user_cmd = ['adduser', '-q', '--gecos', '', '--disabled-password', '--force-badname']
c.LocalAuthenticator.create_system_users = True
c.Authenticator.delete_invalid_users = True
c.Auth0OAuthenticator.client_id = 'id'
c.Auth0OAuthenticator.client_secret = 'secret'
c.Auth0OAuthenticator.oauth_callback_url = 'http://localhost:8000/hub/oauth_callback'
c.Auth0OAuthenticator.scope = ['openid', 'email']
c.JupyterHub.cookie_max_age_days = 0.4125
c.Authenticator.refresh_pre_spawn = True
c.Authenticator.auth_refresh_age = 300
c.Authenticator.admin_users = {'myemail@gmail.com'}
notebook_dir = os.environ.get('DOCKER_NOTEBOOK_DIR')
c.DockerSpawner.notebook_dir = notebook_dir
c.DockerSpawner.volumes = {
'jupyterhub-user-{username}': notebook_dir,
'/home/user/api/contents/srv': '/home/jovyan/shared'
}

So everyone will have their private home directory and a shared drive which only trusted users can write to but all people can read from, did I get that correct? So now you want to secure /home/jovyan/shared and you are not sure how to achieve that best?