Application plugins together wit Mime render in same extension

Hello everyone, I am new to Jupyterlab and trying to develop an extension.
At the moment I got as far as writing a panel showing some resources in a tree (similar to filebrowser) as shown in [1]. The resources are fetched from a REST call in the backend.
I also managed to implement dragging resources of of my tree view.
Now I’d like to make a dedicated Mimerender extension that takes care of showing a custom editor (will be a form that calls a service in the backend and returns some results that should be reusable in other notebooks).
I’d like to know if and how it is possible to develop the treeview plugin and the mimerender extension together into the same extension package. Because I was able to find only specific cookiecutters for either of them.
Moreover, in a more visionary approach, I’d be interested to know whether it is somehow possible to extend Ipython notebooks or in general other notebooks to make the form appear as a widget whenever I drop an item of my resource view on top of them.

[1]

Yes, this should be possible. The package.json jupyterlab key can give separate entry point files for each type of plugin:

"jupyterlab": {
  "extension": "path/to/application/extension.js",
  "mimeExtension": "path/to/mimerender/extension.js"
}

(see Develop Extensions — JupyterLab 4.0.9 documentation and Develop Extensions — JupyterLab 4.0.9 documentation)

1 Like

form appear as a widget

If you’re talking a Jupyter widget: I’ve used this adapter pattern to drive a widget, a document, and a mime renderer. I really need to abstract that out into something reusable!

As for the drag-and-drop behavior… I’d see it more like a snippet generator like dask-labextension, as doing bespoke things directly to the notebook is not super portable, whereas generating a little code (given a particular language) might be. So a user would:

• open a notebook
  • open the sidebar
  • select one or more of your things