I’ve noticed some behavior on the admin page when using named servers along with c.DockerSpawner.remove=True. The containers stop and are removed when the user signs out/closes their tabs as I would expect. But the named servers persist as a line in the admin page. I can understand wanting to persist those when you keep the user’s container for the next time they return it just gets started, but shouldn’t they be cleaned up as the singleuser images are removed otherwise?
DockerSpawner.remove only refers to removing containers on stop and recreating them every time on start (like docker run --rm), as opposed to stopping and restarting containers for each server (like docker stop, docker start), it does not refer to removing Server records from JupyterHub when they stop. That’s a different API request setting remove=true, and also doable via the home page named server list.